Apricot Glazed Chicken

21 May

The picture does not fully capture the delicious-ness!

 

I have always heard of infamous Moroccan’s cooking in tagines, using prunes, apricots, figs, and all sorts of other dried fruits. I have never been one to mix sweet foods with my meats. I finally experimented with chicken, figs, and apricots, and the result was a big hit. I am still skeptical of the carmelized figs, but everyone else seemed to love them. For those of you who like to substitute chicken breast for thighs, I wouldn’t recommend doing so here. The apricot jam turns into more of a glaze, and doesnt penetrate the chicken, so you need a tender cut of chicken.  This was fun to make, and the smell in the house was amazing – Enjoy! 

Apricot Glazed Chicken
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 30 minutes 

1.25 lbs of skinless chicken thighs (you can get boneless if you prefer)
1/2 cup of apricot preserves
3 tsp soy sauce (i use low-sodium)
1/4 tsp ginger powder
1/2 tsp turmeric
juice of half of a lime
8 turkish figs, cut into quarters
Salt & Black Pepper 

(1) In a large ziploc bag, combine all of the ingredients, except the figs. Mix well. Let marinate for at least 20 minutes.
(2) Over high heat, add 2 tbsp of olive oil to a hot saute pan. Add the contents of the ziploc bag.
(3) Sear and brown the chicken on both sides, on high heat, for approximately 10 minutes.
(4) Add the fig pieces, a dash of salt, black pepper, and, if you like, another dash of soy sauce.
(5) Reduce the heat, and cover. Cook for at least 15 more minutes. Periodically check the chicken and turn over to ensure even cooking.
(6) Remove from heat, and enjoy!

4 Responses to “Apricot Glazed Chicken”

  1. pursuenaturalny2008 May 21, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    Delicious recipe, especially incorporating the caramelized figs; am recommending it on my article on how to use ginger in a recipe.

  2. malziecakes May 25, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Yum, this looks SO good. I was just looking for a new chicken recipe to try out and I’m pretty sure I’ve found it. I have a couple of questions: would I be able to use grated fresh ginger? And secondly, where in the world can I get figs in DC?

    • babdelal May 25, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

      It was pretty darn tasty! You can definitely use fresh ginger. I think that would actually give the flavor a nice pop, rather than a subtle undertone. Also, I got the figs from Trader Joe’s – I assume Whole Foods, or any Arab grocery store should have dried figs.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ginger – a time-tested medicinal plant « Pursue natural - May 21, 2010

    […] 5) A mouth-watering apricot chicken recipe. […]

Leave a comment