Coconut Beef Stew (Massaman Beef)

11 Aug

Not the best picture - but believe me, it's goooood food.

At my favorite Thai restaurant in Alexandria, VA, I always order the beef massaman curry.  It is a stew of tender beef, with hints of coconut and spice, slowly simmered with cubes of potatoes. I had absolutely no idea how to make it, so I turned to my trusty pressure cooker and went to my spice cabinet.  This stew was amazing, and the beef was perfectly tender.  We enjoyed this served over a bed of basmati rice. 

Coconut Beef Stew (Massaman Beef)

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook TIme: 30 minutes

1 lb stew beef
1/2 tsp coriander powder
1/4 tsp ginger powder
2 cloves minced garlic
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp harissa (or other hot sauce, like Siracha)
1/2 red onion, diced
1 potato, diced
14 oz can of coconut milk
2 cups beef broth
olive oil

(1) In a large bowl, marinate the beef with the coriander, ginger, garlic, soy sauce and harissa (or your favorite hot sauce). Set aside. You can prepare this the night before for the flavors to intensify.
(2) In a pressure cooker, on high heat, lightly saute the red onion in 1 -2 tbsp of olive oil. Add the beef and lightly brown.
(3) Add the potato, coconut milk, and beef broth. Mix well.
(4) Cover the pressure cooker, and let the pressure build for approximately 10 minutes. Reduce heat to medium, and let cook for another 30 minutes.
(5) Release the pressure according to the instructions on your pressure cooker. Remove the cover. The stew should have a thick consistency. If it does not, then mix 1 tbsp of corn starch with cold water. Add to the stew, and it should thicken within 5 minutes.

Enjoy!

One Response to “Coconut Beef Stew (Massaman Beef)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe: Thai Beef Stew | It's Better Everyday - October 15, 2010

    […] I started searching for beef stew recipes one of the first things I found was a Coconut Beef Stew recipe. It looked really yummy, but I got curious and started searching some more. I searched Thai […]

Leave a comment